Garry_Moore_Tony_the_Tiger_1955Join us for Crazy Live Fanfic Flash on Writing Wednesday, May 27, 2015 at 4 p.m. E.T. when we pair literary genres with commercial mascots to make ourselves laugh. We’ll improvise live on Twitter: follow #LitChat or login to our dedicated channel at www.nurph.com/litchat. Play along—writing shouldn’t be ALL hard work!

“Yellow took Green’s hand and tugged her in for an embrace. She held him so tightly, his candy cracked.” – @JCRosen

“What the s/hell?” Yellow exclaimed as he melted in her hand. – @RobynMcIntyre

FanFic is both a loved and hated genre. Some writers feel it is disrespectful to them to use their world and characters in your own stories. Others, like Anne McCaffrey, embrace their fan’s fiction and even publish it. Some write fanfic for fun or because they can’t let go of the world it’s set in. And sometimes even fame can be a consequence – reputedly, 50 Shades of Gray started out as a Twilight fanfic.

On Writing Wednesday, #LitChat will look for the fun in fanfic by doing a live tweet creation of a few very short flash fics starring commercial mascots. We may jump from there to book characters or even film characters and worlds. Improvisation will be the name of the game. Join in or just laugh on the sidelines by following #LitChat on Wednesday, May 27th at 1pm PT (3pm CT, 4pm ET) on Twitter, or login to our dedicated Nurph channel at www.nurph.com/litchat

Suggested Fanfics:

  • Horror/Dracula: starring the M&M candies
  • Historical Romance/Pride & Prejudice: starring Flo from Progressive
  • Fantasy/Discworld: starring Mr. Clean
  • Upmarket Literary/The Help: starring the Geico Gecko
  • Science Fiction/Dune: starring the KoolAid Pitcher

Moderator @RobynMcIntyre will decide when a fic is finished and will accept suggestions for other fic pairings. If you’ve got a pairing in mind, contact her on Twitter.